Please Tell Your Cardiac Story.

I’d (and I assume many others) would love to hear how you have dealt with, conquered or beaten heart disease. Do you still ride a bike, surf, mountain bike, bmx, skateboard, ski or snowboard since your heart attack or heart disease started? Any little story you have can go a long way in providing motivation for others who struggle with wanting to ride.

After you write your story here I’ll make a special page for it so other can communicate about it.

Thanks,

Eric

2 thoughts on “Please Tell Your Cardiac Story.

  1. Hi, Eric. You said you were interested in some stories related to cardiac recovery. Last April, I underwent sudden open heart surgery to replace my aortic valve and repair the aortic root. Thirteen days days later, I had to have emergency pericardial surgery to drain fluid that was accumulating (1 liter’s worth).

    I was already registered to ride the 2009 Make-A-Wish Foundation Wish-A-Mile 300 bicycle tour in July (100 miles a day x 3 days), and set a goal to try and ride it. I am happy to say that I was able to ride a full 100-mile century 116 days after my open heart surgery, 103 days after the 2nd surgery. I took Day 2 off, then rode another centuiry on Day 3.

    As I reflected on it, I have begun to wonder if anyone else has completed a century that soon after such a surgery/episode. Do you know?

    Mark

  2. I had a heart attack in April last year at the age of 46 due to a blocked artery plus a week before my hardly used bike was stolen.

    I had never gone more than 10 miles on it but I had owned it for 15 years and had kept it in good condition.

    Anyhow 5 months later I bought a bike off eBay rode a few miles each day and found that my stamina increased quickly and on the 2nd October 2009 I got on my bike and cycled from London to Brighton which was about 60 miles. I did have to stop halfway at a lovely pub for some lunch and a pint of ale and it was a great feeling when I finally got to the beach.

Leave a Reply

