My 3rd Cardiac Rehab Program

Below is a chart (click on it to view it larger)showing my routine during phase 3 & maintinence of my cardiac rehab at Scripps Integrative Medicine.

After 30 minutes of either stationary cycling or running on the treadmill or track I would perform the following pictured workout. While cycling or running I was allowed to maintain a heart rate of 140-145 maximum. On the stationary bike I would usually do a 3 minute warmup, 3x 8 minute intervals then a 3 minute cool down before starting the rest of the work out. The intervals might be 120-125bpm then 125-135 bpm and finish with 135-145bpm.  I would up my heart rate by either a low cadence hard gear or just by me regulating high cadence efforts and the occasional standing up to peddle. The runs were on their outdoor track (still monitored). It was a mix of walking fast, no lower than 125bpm and a slow jog which I would be able to hold 145-150bpm without a problem. My treadmill work was also done as intervals. Again, a 3 minute warm up then 3x 8 minute jog and 3 minute cool down.

I also will be posting notes and comments on 2 other programs I participated in over the next few months.

If you have any questions please feel free to post them here. I’d be glad to pass on my experiences.

scripps_cardiac_rehab_worko

This was my personal program reviewed by my doctor, nurses and exercise physiologist based on my health. DO NOT COPY this program with out first consulting your doctor(s).

2 thoughts on “My 3rd Cardiac Rehab Program

  1. Hi my name is Daniel Wright and i know that this website is about cycling and racers but i was diagnosed with ARVD last year playing football for Wolverhampton Wanderers in England. I was wanting to know do any of you guys think there is a posdibility of me returning to sport. If anyone on this site with ARVD could show me what exercise they are currently doing this would be muchly appreciated. Im 18 years old and have just been fitted with and ICD.
    Here is a link for more information about me….

    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1210217/Teenage-Wolves-keeper-Daniel-Wright-forced-quit-football-heart-problem.html

Leave a Reply

